WCAG 2.1 Released as Official W3C Recommendation

June 7, 2018


The World Wide Web consortium (W3C) has released an updated version of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1). The new guidelines provide additional checkpoints for Web developers to improve accessibility of websites, apps, and other information technology systems.

Highlights of the WCAG 2.1 include:

  • Guidance for complex gestures and techniques to avoid unintended activation of touch-enabled controls
  • New guidance regarding contrast of graphic elements and text
  • Requirements to warn and allow users to extend time limits imposed by content/forms

And here are some useful links to learn more about WCAG 2.1:


Request a Quote